Why Did the South Secede?

Heck no, we ain’t forgettin’! The War Between the States or the American Civil War began after the election of President Abraham Lincoln in 1860. Lincoln opposed slavery and had already begun taking steps toward abolition. Eleven southern states succeeded to form the Confederate States of America (the Confederacy) beginning with South Carolina. The ‘Free states’ to the north became known as the Union States.