Who Wrote the Gospels?

The Christian New Testament contains four gospels-Matthew, Mark, Luke and John. All are named after their authors. All four gospel writers were among the 12 apostles of Jesus (the apostles were chosen by Jesus to travel with him and help with his ministry). Gospels are a retelling of the life and events of Jesus’ life.