Who Were the Little Rock Nine?

The Little Rock Nine were nine African-American students at Little Rock Central High School in Little Rock, Arkansas who attended school in 1957 with federal protection. The school was supposed to be integrated but the National Guard had to be called in to keep the peace. The nine students were Ernest Green, Elizabeth Eckford, Jefferson Thomas, Terrance Roberts, Carlotta Walls, Minnijean Brown, Gloria Ray, Thelma Mothershed, and Melba Beals. Look here for more information: