Where is Macedonia?

The Republic of Macedonia is in the central Balkan peninsula in southeast Europe. Macedonia is a landlocked country, bordered by Serbia and Kosovo to the north, Bulgaria to the east, Greece to the south and Albania to the west. Macedonia is a successor state of former Yugoslavia, and declared its independence in 1991.