What State is District of Columbia in?

The District of Columbia (known as Washington D.C.) is not part of any state. Our Founding Fathers wanted the seat of government to be distinct from the states, as outlined in Article One of the United States Constitution. Residents of Washington, D.C. weren’t able to vote in presidential until 1961, with the passage of the 23rd Amendment.