What Makes Up the Legislative Branch?

The legislative branch in the US federal government is made up of two houses: the House of Representatives, the Senate. The House is made up of 435 members (plus 6 non-voting members, representing the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Guam, and the US Virgin Islands). The Senate is comprised of 100 members. The legislative branch makes law in the US. The House has the power to impeach (officially charge) public officials, and elect the President in an electoral deadlock. The Senate has the power to vote on the House’s impeachments, authorize judicial appointments, approve treaties, approve Presidential appointments, and elect the Vice President in an electoral deadlock.