What Makes a School Ivy League?

The Ivy League refers to eight schools in the Northeast of the United States (Brown, Princeton, Yale, Pennsylvania, Havard, Columbia, Cornell, and Dartmouth). While in common parlance the league refers to elite, private universities, the term has it’s roots in the founding of the Ivy League football conference.