What is the Speaker of the House?

The current Speaker of the House of the United States is Representative Nancy Pelosi of California. The Speaker serves as the presiding officer over the U.S. House of Representative one of the legislative bodies within the congress. The Speaker is also second in the United States presidential line of succession. The Speaker is chosen from the majority party by the congressional members. You can find more information here: