What is the Sales Tax in North Carolina?

North Carolina recently changed their sales tax to 5.5%. This was effective as of September 1, 2009. Most counties add their own additional tax of 2.25%, making the total sales tax 7.75%. The other counties have an 8% rate, except for Mecklenburg county which adds an additional 5%.