What is the Mexican Cession?

The Mexican Cession is the name that was given to the part of Mexico that was sold to the United States in 1848 by President Antonio Lopez de Santa Ana. Parts of the states of Arizona, New Mexico and Colorado, plus the entire territory of Nevada, Utah and California, form the Mexican Cession.