What is the Ivy League?

The Ivy League is a group of eight colleges from the Northern United States. They are known for athletics, achievement and social prestige. The colleges include Brown University – Providence, RI, Columbia University – New York City, NY, Cornell University – Ithaca, NY, Dartmouth College – Hanover, NH, Harvard University – Cambridge, MA, Princeton University – Princeton, NJ, University of Pennsylvania – Philadelphia, PA and Yale University – New Haven, CT.