What is the G-8 Summit?

The G8 or Group of Eight, formerly the G6 or Group of Six, was a forum created in 1975 by France. The eight nations involved are France, Italy, Germany, Japan, the United Kingdom, Canada, the United States and Russia. The G8 is held annually to discuss issues of mutual and global concern. Discussions can include issues such as the economy, energy, and the environment.