What is the Currency in Italy?

The currency in Italy at one time was the Lira but today it is the Euro. Italy joined the European Union in 1999 and all member nations went to one currency which can be used in all member countries. The member countries are Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal and Spain.