What is the Capitol of West Virginia?

The capital of West Virginia is Charleston. It is located where the Elk and Kanawha Rivers meet in Kanawha County towards the western part of the state (coordinates: 38’20’50N, 81’38’0W). It is also the largest city with roughly 53,000 people (2000 Census), and is 32.7 square miles. Charleston is not to be confused with Charles Town, West Virginia, which is located towards the north east in Jefferson County. To differentiate, one can refer to Charleston as ‘The Capital City,’ ‘The Home of Hospitality,’ or ‘The most northern city of the South and the most southern city of the North.’