What is Parts of Speech?

Parts of speech are the words that are used together to create a sentence. There are eight parts of speech, they are: noun, verb, adjective, adverb, pronoun, preposition, interjection and conjunction. The noun names the person place or thing and is part of the subject of the sentence. The pronoun replaces the noun, so that the noun isn’t repeated over and over. The adjective describes the noun or pronoun. The verb is the action word and creates the predicate of the sentence. The adverb describes the verb and usually ends in ‘ly’. The conjunction links phrases or clauses together, and, when, but. The preposition links words together and usually gives some form of spatial information. The book is on the floor, on is the preposition. The interjection is an exclamation and usually has an exclamation point at the end. All eight parts of speech used together will create a complete sentence when used correctly.