What is New France?

New France is a territory that was occupied by France from the time of Jacques Cartier’s exploration of the Saint Lawrence River, in 1534, until the area was taken over by Spain and Britain in 1763. The area extended from the Hudson River to the Gulf of Mexico, and Newfoundland to the Rocky Mountains.