What Foods have Gluten?

Gluten is a substance that is found in wheat, barley and rye. It is also present in the ancient forms of wheat, known as kamut and spelt. Oats are grown in fields on a rotational basis with wheat, thus giving them a risk for cross contamination. FDA labeling requires wheat, one of the top 8 allergens, to be labeled when present in a food product. At the present time, gluten is not required to be labeled. It is important to contact the manufacturer to inquire about flavorings and other obscure ingredients to determine if they contain gluten. You can find more information here: