What are the Branches of Philosophy?

Philosophy can be divided into five main branches, each with their own area of study and primary question to address. The branches are metaphysics, the study of existence which asks what is out there; epistemology, the study of knowledge which asks how we know about things; ethics, the study of action that asks what we should and should not do; politics, the study of force, asking what behaviors are permissible; and esthetics, the study of art that focuses on what life could be like. For more information look here: