What 38 States Ban Gay Marriages?

Same-sex marriages have created quite a controversy in the United States. The federal governemnt does not recognize same-sex marriage, but some states have elected to recognize it. There are only five states that allow same-sex marriage: Massacheusetts,Connecticut, Iowa, and Vermont. New Hampshire will allow same-sex marriages starting Jan. 1, 2010.