How was the Constitution Ratified?

To ratify the Constitution, the Federal Convention needed nine of the thirteen state legislatures to vote in favor of the Constitution. Delaware, Pennsylvania, Georgia, New Jersey, Connecticut, Massachusetts, South Carolina, Maryland, New Hampshire, Virginia, and New York all voted to ratify the Constitution with a few changes. Rhode Island did not vote in favor, and North Carolina did not vote at all.