How Many Years does a Senator Serve?

Senators are elected by the people of their state and each state has 2 senators. The number of years that a senator serve is a term of 6 years, after which they are eligible for re-election. The longest serving senator is Robert C. Byrd who is currently serving for just over 50 years.