How Many Stripes on the American Flag?

The American Flag has one stripe for each of the original 13 colonies. There are six white stripes and seven red stripes for the total of 13. The first flag was designed back in 1777 and there have been many versions since then. Today’s flag holds 50 starts representing the 50 states and the 13 stripes for the original colonies.