How Many Popes have There Been?

The Pope is the head of the Roman Catholic Church, and he is located at the Vatican in Rome. To date, October 2009, there have been 266 Popes. Pope John Paul II who was the 265th Pope died in 2005, and he was then succeeded by the 266th, Pope Benedict XVI. Look here for more information: