How Many People Signed the Constitution?

At the time of the signing of the constitution there were 70 delegates who had been appointed to the Constitutional Convention. Of the 70 delegates only 55 could actually attend the convention. Some of those that were unable to attend were Thomas Jefferson, Benjamin Franklin and Samuel Adams. When it came tiem to sign only 39 of the delegates actually signed the constitution. The reason that 14 of them did not sign is that they had already left for their homes and were not available to sign. There were also three delegates that refused to sign. They were Mason and Randolph of Virginia and Gerry of Massachusettes. Those that refused to sign wanted to wait until the constitution contained a bill or rights.