How Many Layers does the Sun have?

The sun has three basic layers. First there is the extremely hot core where hydrogen fuel is burned into helium. Then, there is a thick layer of burning, churning gases and finally, there is the thin surface layer. The sun is so big you could fit one million Earths inside it.