How Many Counties are in Missouri?

In the state of Missouri there are 114 counties. The county government is responsible for maintaining roads, providing security (sherriff office) and the property assessor. The city of St. Louis is not part of St. Louis county it voted to suceed from the county in 1876. St. Louis is one of three independent cities in the US.