How Many Communist Countries are There?

A communist state is a sovereign state with a form of government characterized by single-party rule of a communist party. As of now, there are five one- party communist countries in the world, they are China, Cuba, Laos, North Korea and Vietnam. Formerly communist were Afghanistan, Albania, Angola, Benin, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Congo, Czechoslovakia, East Germany, Ethiopia, Mongolia, Mozambique, Poland, Romania, Somalia, South Yemen, Soviet Union, Yugoslavia. For more information, look here: