How Many Bones are in the Human Head?

The human head is composed of 22 bones, consisting the cranium and the facial bones. The cranium is formed by 8 bones: the frontal bone, 2 parietal bones, 2 temporal bones, the occipital bone in the back, the ethmoid bone behind the nose, and the sphenoid bone. The cranium protects the brain.