How is Congress Organized?

The United States Congress is organized by means of a bicameral nature. This means that there are two houses within the Congress: the House of Representatives and the Senate. Senators and Representatives are each elected through direct election by the people. There are 435 members of the House of Representatives. Each member of the house serves a total of two years as a term. They are portioned by means of a state’s population. There are 100 senators within the United States. Each senator serves staggered six year terms. Each state has two senators, determined by population.